Where do I begin?

August 18, 2010

I’m recently home from a Euro-trip. One of those 5 week, life-changing, self discovery, coming of age, type deals.  You could call me lucky.

Occasion:  My recent High School graduation.

Companions:  My two beautiful best friends.

Destinations:  We tried to cater our destinations to where we knew locals and had a cool place to stay.   In Order of arrival: London, Amsterdam, Normandy (France), Dijon (France), Nice (France), Monaco, Verona, Munich, Prague, Berlin, Paris, London, SFO.

Among all the craziness I managed to photographically document all the memorable and tasty culinary experiences worth the blog, taking up all my camera’s precious memory much to the dissent of my friends… only because I arguably “couldn’t delete the food pictures!”.  I think those of you as culinary crazed as me would defend them just the same…

So I guess I’ll begin in London….

One of the most incredible culinary experiences occurred within our first few days in London at the Borough Market.  I live in the bay area where the fruit is fresh, the avocados are ripe and the fish is nothing short of sushi-grade.  But oh no, this market was like Pike Place Market + SF Ferry Building Sunday Farmers Market+ Cool London Attitude.  Those who say the food is shit in London has obviously never been here.  And though I can’t entirely  disspel that rumor, given my friends and I mainly survived on the 2 pound breakfast at my brothers LSE dorm and cliff bars for dinner, (not because we did not want to participate in London fare, but mainly to save money) the experiences we did have dining out were quiet great.

So Jboz and I basically splurged a great deal at this market: calorically and monetary.  Ordering every dish if a faint whiff suited our fancy, or anywhere the line grew long.  We walked down a stone road leading to the market; we though we were in it, enjoying the quaint and low-key vibe until we hit the bustling epicenter.  This is where things got good.

Starving, we rushed over to a stand selling chorizo, red pepper and rocket sandwiches. yum.  The British love rocket…. kind of like Californians love arugula?  and why am I even making this analogy?…. moving on.

This Curry looked insanely great…

Exotic meats and game…

Juicy Scallops.  I liked these because they left the roe on the scallop, personally my favorite part; I feel it’s the most tender and flavorful.  Seared with bacon, lemon and mixed vegetables.

Basil Pesto and humus

the bustling market place

do I see “award winning”?

“I could write a book and call it the perfect sandwich”

sausage, onions and dry cured bacon on ciabatta.  Generously topped with grainy mustard and a sweet/ tangy apple chutney.

This stuff is out of this world.  On the right, you can see the massive cheese wedges put directly under the broiler.  Then the guy literally picks the entire thing up and scrapes off a ridiculous amount of the hot, gooey cheese over boiled potatoes, cornichons and pearl onions. Dying.

Fresh Fish

Fresh Juice

A gorgeous vegetable Quiche

For dessert we finished off with something light… I couldn’t fathom a buttercream topped cake or chocolate ganache.  This was perfect; a fresh squeezed juice called “the zinger”.  A mixture of wheatgrass, ginger, apple and lemon.

Wheatgrass, nature’s greatest caffeine jolt.

Ever in London? Go Here:

239 Borough High Street
Camberwell, London SE1 1, United Kingdom
020 7407 1002

One Response to “Where do I begin?”

  1. Alisa Says:

    Great photos! I love the gooey cheese!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

