Rain and Fall Baking

October 14, 2009

wow, the rain has come.  And with a fiery passion at that!  Yesterday, I parked two blocks away from school and by the time I had walked from the car to my first period class, it literally looked as though I had been standing waist high in water.  Even with an umbrella and rain coat, my pants were soaked through.  On the way home, golden gate park was closed and half the roads were flooded, not to mention the crazy wind that ripped apart several trees!  On a miserable day like this, all you can really do is bake!

So I finished up my first quarter at school and have the rest of the week off (a much needed break!).  I attended a grueling 3 hour SAT prep session last night and was anxious to find something good to make as I did my daily foodgawker blog roll.  Sometimes, (last night was no exception)  I literally click like 40 blogs, everything on that site looks amazing!! Anyways…. as I was making my rounds I noticed that fall recipes are definitely making their appearance.  In particular, I see the one reoccurring ingredient.  The ingredient, I might add, of fall.  I see it featured in bread puddings, pies, graham crackers, cookies, cupcakes, muffins, loafs, even butter.

“Too bad I don’t have any on me”, I think to myself….. until I stumble upon two 29oz cans of Libby’s canned PUMPKIN in my pantry.  I am so excited. no joke.  So now to the decision: what do I make!? Everything looks amazing….. I decide on pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.  The cakey ones that seem to be making an appearance on most all major blogs.  I also found a wonderful looking pumpkin bread, someone’s mom’s recipe- has to be good right?? (hey I do have 29oz of pumpkin to use!) Oh and I also had 13 egg yolks in my fridge that I had to use up.  Yes, 13.  I made a coconut cake for my mom’s birthday last week so I decided on these egg yolk cookies from allrecipes.com.

The only changes I made to any of the recipes was using four egg yolks and two whole eggs instead of four whole eggs for the pumpkin bread.  I also added almonds, chocolate chips, pistachios, and dried cranberries to half of the egg yolk cookies.

As for the pumpkin cookies- very cake-like.  I didn’t use as many chocolate chips as the recipe called for.  It literally tasted like you are eating cake instead of a cookie.  They were pretty good, recipe can be found here: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies.

The Pumpkin Bread- yummy and moist.  I made one loaf topped with pralined pecans and chopped almonds, and six tea cake molds that turned to muffins.  I wish I had added more nuts to the actual bread! Recipe can be found on this cute blog: Pumpkin Bread.

Egg Yolk Cookies-  I didn’t have lemon or orange extract, so I used the zest of one orange.  It gave a great fresh flavor.  The cookies themselves remind me of packaged cookie dough that you can buy at the store.  After baking a few plain ones, I added nuts, chocolate, and cranberries to spice them up.  I baked them longer because I thought they were better crispier.  Recipe is here: Egg Yolk Cookies.

2 Responses to “Rain and Fall Baking”

  1. Michelle Says:

    WOW..you were busy! I love to bake on cold, rainy days or when it snowing or after a blizzard. Heck, I like to bake any time..LOL!

    The topping on the bread looks fantastic!

  2. Elissa Says:

    So much pumpkin!! I actually -adore- pumpkin, it’s one of my favorite flavors and one of the reasons why fall is my favorite season. As far as I’m concerned anything with pumpkin in it is a big hit. The photos are beautiful and I’ll probably try that pumpkin bread!


Leave a Reply

