Christmas Baking

January 4, 2010

2009 was my family’s first real Christmas in a long time.  I don’t know why, but one year my parents decided not to get a tree and fuss over Christmas.  Well, this made me very sad.  Firstly, because Christmas is my absolute favorite holiday; I just love the music, gift giving and general spirit.  Second, because my birthday is on the 23rd of December and the celebration on Christmas itself is like a birthday present to me.  Third, well I wasn’t getting very many presents!  Anyways, my family hasn’t had a really traditional Christmas in quite some time, so I was pretty ecstatic when I learned we were getting a tree and hosting a Christmas dinner party.

Of coarse, I made dessert.  I had a request for a sugar-less dessert because of a health condition, so I came up with a seasonal fruit galette adapted from Martha Stewart.

I used a combination of organic pears, persimmons and apples, about three cups.  I mixed this in a bowl with 1 tablespoon on cornstarch, two teaspoons of lemon juice and 1/2 teaspoon of coarse salt.

I put the filling in the center of a 14 inch round pie crust, leaving a 1 1/2 inch border, and then I folded the crust over the sides.  I mixed an egg yolk and a tablespoon of cream and brushed the edges so it would bake up with a nice golden/brown color.  The only sugar I used was a small handful to dust the edges of the crust.

I baked the galette for about 1 hour until the juiced in the center were bubbling (activating the cornstarch)   and the crust was golden brown.  I dotted the top with a bit of organic strawberry jam.

This was so delicious.  No one could believe that I didn’t add any sugar to the recipe.  It was the consumed within minutes after I put the dessert out.

Next, I made Martha Steward’s Sweet Potato Cupcakes.  These were great!  The cupcakes were soft, delicious and moist.  But perhaps next time I will use an actual frosting instead of her suggested toasted marshmallow and nut topping, even though I love using a propane torch to toast the marshmallows!  I never use the broiler, a torch is so much more fun.

Here is the recipe:

Double click the recipe to enlarge.

I whipped up some decadent chocolate toffee shortbread too.  Everybody loved this.  The recipe makes a 9×13 inch pan so I had a lot to keep and give away as gifts.  You really should make this, super easy and so good!  I’ll do another post with more pictures where I leave the recipe.

Hope you all had a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

One Response to “Christmas Baking”

  1. Angel D. Says:

    DANG Jojo. these made my mouth WATER. xoxox


Leave a Reply

