New Year’s Resolution

January 18, 2010

New Year’s Resolution:

1.  Blog more.

I’m trying not to bake as much after the holidays;  take a break if you will.  After a record-breaking butter intake in December 2009, it only seems fitting.  So I’m trying to eat right, stay healthy, exercise, and well… blog.  But less baking and more blogging doesn’t particularly make sense!  Well, I though about this, and there is more to blog about than just French pastry cream and butter pie crust.  My baking adventures are not limited to my own little kitchen.  I will still be baking, with a more health conscious approach  and also find fun things I can share with you all.

However, I did promise you that recipe  for the chocolate toffee shortbread from Christmas in my last post.  So easy and a great crowd pleaser.  I gave several bags away as gifts.

The Shortbread:
2 sticks softened butter
1/2 cup white sugar
2 cups flour

Mix until crumbly. Press into 9×13 pan and bake at 325 for 30 minutes or until the top is just lightly browned.  Poke holes with a fork to let the steam escape.

Like This…

I then made Elizabeth Falkner’s sinfully delicious sticky toffee sauce.  This is easy and utterly amazing, I have yet to taste anything else like it.  Use it to fill cupcakes, top ice cream. layer in cakes or anything else, the possibilities are endless.  This sauce gives a decadent, rich, buttery and slightly salty flavor to anything it touches.  I knew I wanted to use it in this bar.

Sticky Toffee Sauce: (makes about 3/4 cup)

2 Tbsp unsalted butter

1/2 packed dark brown sugar

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of kosher salt

Use a medium sauce pan to melt the butter over medium/ high heat.  Clip a candy thermometer to the side of the pan and add the brown sugar and cream, stirring just to moisten the sugar.  Bring to a boil, and cook for 5 minutes or until the thermometer registers 225 degrees F.  Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and salt and set aside to cool.  Can be stored in the refrigerator for three days.

I cooled the hot shortbread for about 10-20 minutes and then poured the sticky toffee sauce.

Make sure to spread it all over the surface, then refrigerate for about 20 minutes to set up

While the shortbread chilled, I melted about 2-3 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips over a double broiler, and added a few teaspoons of canola oil.

Pour the chocolate on….

definitely missing something…. to make it more festive I sprinkled gingerbread men on the surface 🙂

Chill the entire thing for about an hour to let it set completely.  You can take it out and slice it right away, then let it sit out because it tastes best at room temperature.

Perfect!

I happen to be up in Seattle at the moment visiting my sister and another special friend… I made her favorite cookies to bring up to her.  Look out for the recipes in my next post!

Leave a Reply

